Type to search

Analysis Feature Update

2022 NFF ELECTIONS: How Influential Were Governors In The Polls?

Executive State Governors have always been major forces in Nigerian politics because of the power and the massive budgets they control and their influence was again evident in this year’s NFF Elections in Benin City.

Kano State Governor Umar Ganduje not only endorsed Abba Yola for the NFF Presidency when the aspirant visited him before the polls, he also donated 120 Million Naira to his war chest as well as ordered Kano FA Chairman Sharif Rabiu Inuwa ‘Ahlan’ to vote for the prince.

That will explain the one vote Abba Yola received on Friday, an improvement of his performance eight years in Warri, where he scored zero vote.

The same story could be told of Rivers State Governor  Nyesom Wike, who ordered Rivers FA Chairman Chris Green to vote for South Africa-based ex-international and pastor Idah Peterside.

It is also understood that the generous Governor Wike supported Peterside financially and hence the pastor’s insistence to go for a run-off with eventual winner of the Presidential Elections despite the one vote he received from Green in the first ballot.

Green still cast his one vote for Peterside in the run-off to stick to the Governor’s directive.

Edo State Deputy Governor Philip Shaibu did not only welcome the NFF Congress to Benin City, he also fully supported the candidature of both Ibrahim Gusau and Aisha Falode.

He ordered Edo FA Chairman Roland Abu to first nominate Aisha Falode and also step down for her to return to the NFF Executive Committee.

However, it was a very different story in the case of Abia State, which was represented by top CAF official Christain Emeruwa in the race for the NFF Presidency.

Emeruwa visited both Governor Okezie Ikpeazu  (PICTURED) and Sir Ephraim Chukwuemeka, who has been Abia FA Chairman since 2003.

These visits were not rewarded with a vote as Emeruwa scored zero vote.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *