Type to search

Analysis Feature Update

Northern Bloc Gives Strongest Signal NFF Presidency To Return To Region

The Northern Bloc of the NFF Congress has given the strongest indication yet that it meant business when it insisted that the NFF Presidency return to the region after eight years of Amaju Pinnick at the helm of the football federation and Seyi Akinwunmi as his deputy.

So far, no aspirant from the North has purchased a nomination form for the 1st Vice Presidency as all the four are from the South – Otunba Dele Ajayi (South West), Chinedu Okoye, Obinna Ogba, Felix Anyansi-Agwu (South East).

Instead, we have as many as five aspirants from the North, who have picked forms for the Presidency – Abba Yola, Musa Amadu, Ibrahim Gusau (PICTURED), Shehu Dikko (North West) and  Adam Mouktar Mohammed (North Central) .

Suleiman Yahaya Kwande and Benedict Akwuegbu, all from North Central, have since stepped down their presidential ambition to now contest for seats on the NFF Executive Committee.

The North West currently boasts six voting delegates with four Presidential hopefuls, while the North Central has the most of all the six geo-political zones with eight delegates.

The last three NFF presidents from the North before Pinnick’s emergence were Ibrahim Galadima (North West), Sani Lulu (North Central) and Aminu Maigari (North East).

However, a fragmented Northern Bloc cannot deliver a candidate from that region in spite of their numerical advantages except they have some level of unity.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *