Type to search

Feature Update

Elegbeleye Gets Confidence Vote After Re-Appointment as NPL Chairman

Gbenga Elegbeleye (PICTURED) has received a massive vote of confidence from the NFF after he was re-appointed Chairman of the Nigeria Premier League (NPL).

The former DG of the defunct National Sports Commission (NSC) led an Interim Management Committee (IMC), which organised the country’s foremost domestic league this past season.

Elegbeleye along with COO Davidson Owumi delivered a  re-positioned league after the corruption and lack of integrity and standards that greeted the competition under the scrapped League Management Company (LMC) led by Shehu Dikko.

Clubs received payments for participation and some top-level sponsors backed the league as against what was obtained under the supervision of the discredited LMC.

 Interestingly, Shehu Dikko lobbied to get back his old post without success.

The other Members of the new NPL Management Board are Mohammed Nasiru Sa’idu, Sokoto FA Chairman; Poubeni Ogun, Bayelsa FA Chairman; former Nigeria international Daniel Amokachi as well as three representatives of the Club Owners – Okey Kpalukwu, Suleman Umar and Dominic Iorfa.

Secretary and Legal Adviser is Danlami Ibrahim.

The Board has a two-year tenure, same as those of the NNL, NWFL  and NLO.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *