Type to search

Feature Update

2022 NFF ELECTIONS: Gusau Wins Dramatic NFF Presidential Vote

Zamfara FA Chairman Ibrahim Gusau (PICTURED) has been elected the new President of the NFF after a dramatic run-off today in Benin City.

Gusau won 39 votes to 1 after one vote was invalidated.

The civil servant with the Zamfara Ministry of Finance polled 21 votes in the first ballot, but it was not enough for him to emerge as successor to Amaju Pinnick according to the NFF Statutes.

Forty one persons voted in the first round and that would mean he needed at least 22 votes to coast home.   

He then ought to have gone ahead in a run-off with Seyi Akinwunmi, who polled 12 votes, Shehu Dikko (six votes), Abba Yola (1) and Idah Peterside (1) after Christian Emeruwa and David Doherty scored zero votes.

However, Akinwunmi, Shehu Dikko, Abba Yola all stepped down from the race, while Peterside insisted on a run-off.

Gusau will serve a four-year-term and has to tackle several major challenges that have bedeviled Nigeria Football, from  agitations for a more representative Congress and Executive Committee to corruption and a poor domestic league.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *